Adeistic

rational rejection of supernatural mythologies

About author

I am a human and humanist, thinker, scientist, and atheist. Suffice to say that I have post-secondary education and have experience in a variety of fields.

As an atheist, I am not merely not convinced that a supernatural being exists, I am quite certain that there is none. 

I have long maintained this belief system as a private, though not secret, matter and would have continued to do so if religious fundamentalism were not causing so much damage.  If all believers confined their religious activities to purely personal manifestations of faith, I would not have become more vocal. Unfortunately, and increasingly, religious fundamentalists insist stridently on imposing their religiopolitical will to the detriment of world peace, secular democracy, morality, and knowledge.   

Since there is no deity, religious dictates cannot lay claim to being the absolute dictates of a deity. So, religious moralistic rules can only be taken to be the edicts of other humans. I do not blindly accede to dictates from other humans if I morally disagree with the rule. In essence, rigid, intolerant, moralistic bigotry offends my secular humanistic sense of morality.

August 25, 2007 - Posted by | atheism, critical thinking, science

1 Comment »

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Comment by Mr WordPress | August 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment